About Us

Cornish Association of South Australia (Est. 1890)
The association is for those of Cornish descent or those with an interest in Cornwall. We meet on the third Tuesday of the month at 7.30pm, except in January, usually at the Rosefield Uniting Church, Carlton Ave, Highgate. Our meetings offer the opportunity to meet people with similar interests, Cornish born, Cornish speakers and people with a deep knowledge and love of Cornwall.


  • Foster the establishment and maintenance of fellowship of all those who have a connection with, or concern for, Cornwall.

  • Encourage an appreciation and knowledge of the heritage of Cornwall and of the Cornish in South Australia.

  • Keep alive Cornish customs and traditions.

  • Assist in the assimilation in South Australia of people of Cornish extraction.

  • Further these aims throughout South Australia and nationally.


All persons or organisations showing an interest in the association shall be eligible for membership. Membership subscriptions of $20 are due annually from 1st July and can be paid to the treasurer at one of our meetings.  If you are interested in becoming a member please contact our Secretary and Newsletter Editor, Noel Carthew. PO Box 194 Rundle Mall …

View page »


Activities include illustrated talks, traditional dinners, an annual day-time reunion, a Cornish Carol celebration and excursions with Cornish interests.

View page »


A newsletter is published quarterly and contains not only Association news, but news from other Cornish Associations throughout the world and items of news from Cornwall itself.

View page »


The Cornish Association is affiliated with: • The Joint Commonwealth Societies Council • The London Cornish Association

View page »


Committee for 2016 -17 year Patron:    Rev. Matt Curnow President:    Carlene Woolcock Vice President:    Jan Lokan Secretary / Newsletter Editor:    Noel Carthew Treasurer/Membership Secretary:    Diana Hancock Cornish language:    Lilian James Heritage:    Roslyn Paterson Family history:    Noel Carthew Committee:    Noel Carthew, Rev. Matt Curnow, Carlene Woolcock, Jan Lokan, Diana Hancock, Margaret Johnson, Ros Paterson, Seth Tiddy, …

View page »